US Naval War College Logo
Contact Us
Site Map
NWC on Facebook NWC on Twitter NWC on Flickr NWC on Blackboard
By James E. Brooks, U.S. Naval War College Public Affairs
Sept. 13, 2012

NEWPORT, R.I. – U.S. Naval War College professor Kevin McCrainie’s book “Utmost Gallantry: The U.S. and Royal Navies at Sea in the War of 1812” received an honorable mention in the 2012 Rear Adm. Samuel Eliot Morison Award for Naval Literature.

McCrainie’s book was one of five books competing for top honors in the annual competition sponsored by the New York Commandery of the Naval Order of the United States.
“I’m extremely flattered and a bit humbled by this award,” said McCranie. “It was completely unexpected. I’m proud that the book was even considered.”
“Utmost Gallantry: The U.S. and Royal Navies at Sea in the War of 1812” was published by and is currently available through the U.S. Naval Institute (USNI). According to USNI, the International Journal of Maritime History considers McCrainie’s book the best narrative account of American naval operations in the War of 1812.
Top honors went to Elliot Carlson, who wrote “Joe Rochefort’s War: The Odyssey of the Codebreaker Who Outwitted Yamamoto at Midway.” The other three finalists, also receiving an honorable mention for their work, were: Brayton Harris, who wrote “Admiral Nimitz: The Commander of the Pacific Ocean Theater”; Craig L. Symonds, who wrote “Battle of Midway”; and David J. Ulbrich, who wrote “Preparing for Victory: Thomas Holcomb and the Making of the Modern Marine Corps.”
The prize is named for the late Rear Adm. Samuel Eliot Morison, a Harvard University history professor widely considered to be America’s most distinguished naval historian. The award is administered and presented by the New York Commandery of the Naval Order of the United States. The finalists and winner are selected by a distinguished committee of members of the New York Commandery. Books may be recommended for consideration by members of the Naval Order of the United States but must be nominated for committee consideration by a companion of the New York Commandery. There are detailed and stringent standards that must be met by the author and the work and the committee follows set guidelines in considering the nominees.
The Naval Order of the United States, founded in 1890, prides itself on its many distinguished members, among them Admirals George Dewey, William Leahy, Ernest King, Chester Nimitz, William Halsey, Raymond Spruance, Arleigh Burke, James Crowe and Elmo Zumwalt. Its purpose is, “to encourage research and writing on naval and maritime subjects, preserve documents, portraits and other records of prominent figures, deeds and memories of our naval and maritime history.”
Posted by Dan Marciniak